The Super Bowl is obviously one of the biggest sporting events of the year in America. Okay, it’s actually the biggest. Some teams have been to the Big Game numerous times, while others have actually never been there.

So, which team has been to the most Super Bowls? Let’s get into some Super Bowl history.

Where will the Super Bowl be held in the next few years?

Before we get to the question at hand, let’s look at some interesting Super Bowl details. Super Bowl LVII will take place at Allegiant Stadium in Paradise, Nevada, this year, on Feb. 11, 2024. The Super Bowl in Vegas? Sign me up.

The NFL has also laid out where the Super Bowl will take place through 2027. In 2025, the event will be at Caesars Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. In 2026, it will be held at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California. Finally, in 2027, the Big Game will happen at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California. Why does Cali get all the fun?

Which NFL teams have never played in the Super Bowl?

While a lot of teams have never won a Super Bowl, only a handful of NFL teams have never played in the Super Bowl. Those teams are the Detroit Lions, Cleveland Browns, Jacksonville Jaguars and Houston Texans. The Texans got a late start, as they joined the league in 2002 to replace the Oilers. Teams that have never won a Super Bowl include the Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, Los Angeles Chargers, Minnesota Vikings and Tennessee Titans. That’s a huge list.

Which NFL team has been to the most Super Bowls?

As of Super Bowl LVII, the team that has been to the most Super Bowls is the New England Patriots. They’ve been to 11 of those games. It’s no wonder they have fans around the world. They win a lot, so their name has been splashed out there more than any other NFL team. Of course, this year they didn’t win at lot. So, now, the team is forging ahead with a new coach, in hopes to reclaim their dynasty.

Other teams that have been to the most Super Bowls include the Pittsburgh Steelers, Dallas Cowboys and, as of this year, San Francisco 49ers at 8 times each; the San Francisco 49ers at 7; Kansas City Chiefs at 6; and the Washington Commanders, Green Bay Packers, Miami Dolphins, New York Giants, Las Vegas Raiders and Los Angeles Rams.

As for which teams have the most Super Bowl wins, the Steelers and Patriots are tied with six apiece. The Cowboys and 49ers are next with five titles each.

When was the first Super Bowl?

The very first Super Bowl took place on Jan. 15, 1967. It was the first AFL–NFL World Championship Game, and even though it wasn’t called the Super Bowl at the time, we retroactively call it Super Bowl I. The game took place at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, California. At the game, the National Football League (NFL) champion Green Bay Packers beat the American Football League (AFL) champion Kansas City Chiefs by the score of 35–10.

How many people watch the Super Bowl?

Super Bowl LVI in 2022 had about 112.3 million viewers watching. That’s way more than in 2021, where there were about 91.6 million viewers for Super Bowl LV. Super Bowl LVII could break records, and yes, it’s partly because of Taylor Swift.